Review – Born of Vengeance (The League Book 10) by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Born of Vengeance (The League, #10)Born of Vengeance by Sherrilyn Kenyon

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve marked this as 4 stars but I honestly would rate it at 3.5. I love this series but am finding it to have become a bit repetitive which is taking away the pleasure I have had from reading this series in the past. This has all of Sherrilyn’s trademarks – revenge, action, bad guys, an heir to the throne that looses it only to battle his way back, evil family members, passion, war, battling across the universe and of course love. See where I am coming from, there’s a recurring theme there. Yeah I know it’s a love story but… I don’t mind reading a book that has flashes back to the ones that came before them but I found the amounts in Born of Vengeance to be very distracting and the interactions between the vast amount of previous book characters, well for me anyway, is making for a very heavily convoluted plot line. Some would even say crowded, the different branch offs read tangled to me. I struggled similarly with The Dark Hunter Series, as more books were added, the less I enjoyed them as the similarities between storylines became annoying and less enjoyable to read until one day I said enough and stopped reading the series. Individuality is key to keeping a series alive. For now I will continue on in reading this series but I can’t say for how much longer. I also would of liked to have seen more of Bastien and Ember in the ending, instead it flicks over to Nyk and Jules, which seemed abrupt and disjointed leaving things unfinished when it came to the main characters of this particular storyline.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

